Akufo-Addo Names IEA Boss as New EC Chairperson

Akufo-Addo Names IEA Boss as New EC Chairperson

- in General News, Top Story
IEA Boss

IEA BossPresident Akufo-Addo has nominated the Executive Director of the Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA) Jean Adukwei Mensa, as the new Chairperson of the Electoral Commission.

Following the removal of  Charlotte Osei and  her two  Deputies, Amadu Sulley and Georgina Opoku Amankwah, the positions have been left vacant. This development has prompted the need to appoint a new EC Chairperson and Deputies.

In a statement released by the Chief of Staff, Akosua Frema Osei-Opare and copied to gijonlinenews.com, the President nominated the IEA boss and other two persons named Samuel Tettey and Dr. Eric Asare Bossman as Deputies for the Commission respectively.

Ms. Adwoa Asuama Abrefa has also been selected as a member of the Commission following the retirement of Mrs. Pauline Dadzawa whose absence has created additional vacancy in the commission on Monday, 30th April, 2018.

‘President Akufo-Addo is hopeful that the Council of State will discharge its constitutional duty expeditiously to enable him to make these critical appointments to this very important institution of State.’


Source: Otabil Nicholas / Level 300 JN


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *