The 41st Swag Awards Night

The 41st Swag Awards Night

- in Sports

As the 2017 AFCON qualifications is ongoing, and Ghana has gained qualification, the SWAG awards went on last weekend. The awards night was purposely set to celebrate sports excellence in the various sports disciplines.

The event was graced by the Minister for Youth and Sports, Edwin Nii Lante Vanderpuye. The Minister also attended as the special guest of the night. The British High Commissioner, Jon Benjamin delivered the key note address as a special guest of honor.  Mrs. Cynthia Lumor, Corporate Services of MTN also announced that MTN is Providing GH40, 000 as sponsorship money as well as MTN souvenirs for the award winners.

Representatives of the sponsors of the event, Samsung, Akosombo Textiles Limited, Graphic Communications Ghana Limited, SIC, Coca Cola, Ghana Commercial Bank, Stanbic Bank, Nestle Ghana Ltd, Kasapreko Distillers, T.T Brothers, and others were present.

The night honored some sports personalities from the various sports disciplines including the Black Stars Skipper and the Swansea City champ Andre Dede Ayew who went away with the Sports Personality of the Year award and his Senior Asamoah Gyan was awarded for his honorable contribution to sports over the year.

Below are the lists of the award winners;

Police women hockey team – silver at the All African games

Eben Annan white – development of Table Tennis

Asamoah Gyan –  contribution to sports

Coach David Duncan (Winning 3 SWAG cup with 2 different clubs)

Sophia opuni – development of women’s football

Stephen Oduro – lifetime achievement award

Richard seklo – Long jump golf medal long jump at Samoa ( discovery of the year)

Joseph Tinga – Gold in taekwondo in South Korea

Judoca female award(Sandra sorgoli)

Patrick Yaw Obeng- Para Athlete of the year

Black Queens of Ghana – National team of the year

Golden Rockets (Tennis team)       National Team of the year

John Botuo – Male hockey player of the year

Nafisatu Umaru – Female hockey player of the year

Richard Sekrowu – Discovery of the year Long jump

David Bawah –   Amateur boxer of the year

John Ampomah    – Athlete of year Male category

Nadia Eke  -Female athlete of year category

Portia Boakye -Female footballer of the year

Nana Ampomah – special award

Mr David Adjetey –Taekwondo star of the year

Frederick Adjetey – Association president of the year (Taekwondo)

Coach Yusif Bazigi -Coach of the year

Richard commey – professional boxer of the year (coach)

Eric Opoku ( hello kwaku) -Premiership player of the year

Joel Fameyeh -Discovery of the year





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *